Guy J is at the forefront of a movement in the melody rich and emotionally charged roots of the House music spectrum. He is a young, innovative producer, Dj and Live act whose infectious production talents resulted in his amazing 3 cd artist album (1000 Words) being acclaimed as one of the musical highlights of 2011. Now, in 2012 he is continuing ever upwards with the launch of his own label ‘Lost & Found’ in July. He has just released an exclusive track on Sven Vath’s latest Cocoon compilation, a superb collaboration ‘Trezzz’ with John Digweed & Nick Muir on Bedrock and an amazing remix of the classic ‘Turquoise’ by Circulation on Mesmeric.

One of my all time favorite Dj/producers is coming to town and the only way to rejoice is to get close Image to the genius in question to help understand when he makes you dance, how it’s so easy to feel alive. Allow me to lead the way in to the labyrinth of his mind and contemporary Progressiveness..

MEET GUY J!!

DM- Hello there Guy, can you tell your fans who know so little of you where you were born and brought up?

GJ- Hello, I was born in Tel Aviv, Israel. It was here that I was exposed to Electronic music and fell in love with it.

DM- Was growing up in Israel a musical childhood?

GJ- Yes, very. Israel has a rich night life and at the time there was always good music on the radio from Electronic, to Rock, to Classical- I used to sit around a lot next to the radio and listen for hours.

DM- Did you always know you wanted to become a Dj and music producer?

GJ- It was the first thing I knew I wanted to be. I was getting in to it at a very young age, I think at an age that often you don’t think what you want to do or be when you grow up.

DM- How did the initial days start off?

GJ- Well, really just sitting in front of my computer and starting to try out stuff, listening to a lot of  music, buying some records…Looking for music was more like a challenge back then. To find a record you’d heard and you really needed to find that 12′. The end of the 90’s was just loaded with so much good music.

DM- Which was your first professional gig?

GJ- I played a lot in Israel, which helped me a lot to read and understand the audience. But my first gig outside Israel was in Holland; a very exciting day that I’ll remember for my whole life.

DM- Any one particular artist that you got up and took notice off, take influences from?

GJ- Guy Gerber and James Holden were big influences on my music and on me. There are many great producers and you can learn a lot from them, but those two were good ‘teachers’ through their music.

Image

DM- How did your association with John Digweed begin, you guys seem close?

GJ- It just started from the first release I had on Bedrock Records and just kept going on from there. Bedrock was always supporting my music since that first time.

DM- Your top 5 favorite tunes.

GJ- Lost and Found- Guy J, La Lokomotiva- Mowgli (&ME mix), Trezzz- JDNMGJ, Divine- Cid Inc, I’m your Country- Guy Mantzur.

DM- This is going to be your 3rd time in India with sLick boy Prateek Pandey doing much good for the electronic scene in the country, excited to come back?

GJ- Yes! The last two tours were full with great gigs and I’ve met very nice people in India. I’m happy to be back again and looking forward to meeting more people and playing some new music 🙂

DM- What are you planning to do differently, have your sounds changed from the last time you played here?

GJ- Since last time I was in India I’ve worked a lot on my music, so I have some new tracks I’m really looking forward to playing out. Some great music by other artists too, so it’ll be a lot of fun.

DM- Any gig that’s special, a favorite club?

GJ- My last visit to Buenos Aires, Argentina was just magical. One of the best crowds is there and I am loving going back every time.

DM- You have a leaning towards keeping it deeply Progressive and dripping hypnotic Techno, a sound that best describes you?

GJ- I make music that is a blend from a few different genres of House music, trying to keep it sounding amazing for a wide cross section of Djs and listeners. So maybe you could say Tech/ Progressive/ Deep House music lol.

DM- Any hobbies, when you have time away from work?

GJ- Photography, I love it!

DM- You’ve come a long way from the ‘Esperanza’ days, any track produced by you that’s your personal best?

GJ- No, it’s hard to choose a ‘best one’. Every track you finish producing you think it’s the best, but when you think about it the last one was the best also…. So each track is my best in some way for me.

DM- News is you are starting a new project ‘Lost & Found’ in association with your fellow colleagues at Bedrock, is this sub-label your brain child and what is your vision behind this venture?

GJ- Yes, it’s a big step for me to start the label ‘Lost & Found”. Bedrock, as I said before has always supported me and now I have the chance to start my own label as a sub-label for Bedrock. It’s a dream come true and also a great challenge. ‘Lost & Found’ will be my way to release more music and also support some of the many great artists that are out there. It’s my way of giving more good music to the scene.

DM- Any tunes releasing we can look forward to from your side and what’s your gig guide looking like this year?

GJ- The first release on the label is titled ‘Lost & Found’, an original track by me with massive remixes by Guy Mantzur and Sahar Z. We are already getting good feedback from Djs and the track is working great on the dance floor. There are a few more remixes of mine coming out soon. You can listen to ‘Lost & Found’ here- http://www.soundcloud.com/lostandfoundrec. My gig list is looking great and I am happy everywhere I get to play.

Image

DM- A birdie tells us that you have a love for Pizza, where have you eaten your best one 🙂 or is it a secret?

GJ- Hhehehe!! It’s not a secret, I am addicted and the best one I had was in  in Bangalore, I think. We have to ask our friend Prateek, that was magical.

DM- Any particular way you like your console setup?

GJ- Well I play with Ableton, so I need enough space inside the dj booth to set up my stuff, besides that just a crowd in a good mood for music. 

DM- A djing gear you cannot do without?

GJ- My Mac!

DM- With the club scene in some trouble, we hope your fans get to see you performing in Mumbai, but happy to play in the rest of the cities?

GJ- Yes, traveling is very rewarding, every place has it’s own vibe. So I am looking forward to it.

DM- Where do you travel from here, where are you playing next?

GJ- Next after India is The Egg in London.

I am off to a week-end full of Guygantic tunes. My gum boots are out, if I need to wade to get to these venues as the Israeli Dj/Producer is slated to appear at F-Bar, Mumbai for the DJ Mag India launch on Friday the 6th, the following night at Ricks, Delhi that’s Saturday the 7th and then you can catch him at A Day of sLick which will be held at 1 Lounge, Pune on the 8th a Sunday. So lotsa fun & frolic to be had…and it’s gotta start with this beautifully sculpted set full of melodies layered with deep basslines. My current pick in the download section- Guy J- Electronic Groove

Leave a Reply

