In a life time, one is confronted by any number of entities capable of inducing magic and much awesomeness that’s so other wordly in what they do; it mesmerizes and gob smacks in its perfection. I am left speechless with the obvious talent and uniqueness that’s present and shining in spades in this musical man . That I am fortunate to come across one such soul whose perfection is not limited to his music, but extends beyond the melodies with his articulate persona, full of unheard of etiquette and courtesies in today’s day and age, is surreal. So enough said, I am a fan for life!!

Meet that wonderful man in superlative form and in question- Internationally acclaimed DJ, Producer, Radio host and label owner Darin Epsilon often referred to as a leader of the Progressive & Tech House scene.

I am thrilled to bits that I got the opportunity to come in contact with his vast Progressive music sensibilities and without a doubt eclectic mind in the musical stories he weaves.

Say hello to the avant garde performer in an exclusive!!

Image

DM– Hi, Darin..can you tell your numerous fans in India where you were born & brought up?

DE- I grew up in an area just outside of Chicago and spent 20 years there before moving to Los Angeles.

DM– How did the DJing and Producing start for you?

DEMy first taste of real electronic music happened in the late 90’s when I was around 14. I used to live 45 minutes from Northwestern University, and every week they would air various mixshows featuring local House and Trance DJ’s. I instantly fell in love with the sound and even recorded some of the mixes on cassette so I could listen to them over and over.

Eventually, it was no longer enough to be just a passive listener. I wanted to become an active participant in the scene. It took me two years working part-time at a music shop in order to save up enough money for my first pair of Technics turntables. Fast forward to 2007 and I released my first-ever remix in stores during my senior year in college.

 DM- When was the time that you felt the need to open a label of your own?

DEI reached a point in my career when I decided that it was time to do my own thing. I was getting frustrated working for other people’s labels because it seemed like nobody in the industry really had my best interests in mind. The Perspectives radio show was already doing well, so I felt that incorporating the name into the label would be a smart idea.

DM– You’ve come a long way from the ‘Bluephobia’ days, how different are your sounds from then to now?

DE- Haha, well I’ve produced a lot of different styles of music since then. These days, it’s more or less the same as ‘Bluephobia’, but I think my production skills have developed and the sound has become more techno-oriented. However, I’m a melody freak, so it’s not likely that you’ll hear any production of mine that doesn’t try to include a strong theme or idea.

Image

 DM- Were there any artists that influenced you in the early days?

DEThere have been plenty along the way, and just naming them all would take up my entire day! Paul Oakenfold was a major influence for me at the beginning of my career. This was around the turn of the century when Balearic Trance reached its peak in popularity. A few years later, Sasha & Digweed were in town for their Delta Heavy tour, which I would describe as a life-changing experience. These days, I’m primarily following the sounds of Hernan Cattaneo and Nick Warren because they play elegant dance music without borders.

 DM- Between your radio shows, gigs all over the world, productions, and record label Perspectives Digital, is there anything that you want to make time for?

DENot really. Asides from spending more time with family and friends, I feel like I’m doing exactly what I want to be doing with my life.

DM- Is there any music machinery that you are yet to possess?

DE- I’d love to get my hands on an NI Maschine or Access Virus keyboard. A Pioneer EFX unit would also be a nice addition to my DJ setup.

DM- What’s your favorite cuisine and holiday destination?

DEThat’s a tough one to answer! I certainly wouldn’t mind eating Sushi any day. I also love a bowl of hot Vietnamese Pho. Indian food is great as well, my current favorites are Tandoori Chicken, Biryani, and Samosas. As for holiday destinations I’d say New York, Miami, or Punta Cana.

DM- Any crazy fan requests that you may have received?

DEWhen I was in Colombia last June, the promoter asked if I could talk on the mic because she loved the way my voice sounded on the radio!

Image

DM- According to you is there a difference with the dance music scene in the US as compared to Europe?

DEI’d say the average European is far more educated at the moment. US audiences as a whole tend to stick to what they see on TV or hear on the radio. It’s what I refer to as the “MTV” effect. Even the Detroit Electronic Music Festival, which used to be so underground, has become so incredibly commercialized.

DM- Darin you have played at countless prestigious clubs, is there a favorite?

DEHands down, my favorite gig this year so far has been at Vertigo in Costa Rica. It’s currently ranked in DJ Mag’s Top 100 Clubs and has one of the most impressive DJ booths in the world. The acoustics there are also unbeatable.

DM- How did being named one of the winners of John Digweed & Beatport’s DJ competition make you feel; top of the world?

DEIt was definitely an incredible feeling. All those years of annoying the hell out of my neighbors and family with my music were worth it after all : )

DM- You have a winner with ‘Lapis Lazuli’. The tune is beyond beautiful…are you sitting in the studio and celebrating?

DEThank you! I’m really pleased with the way the package turned out. It’s currently featured on Beatport with a big banner. Up next, I’ll be releasing my new original track ‘Shine The Light’ on Nick Warren’s label Hope Recordings.

DM- What’s your gig schedule looking like in 2012?

DEI had an incredibly busy summer playing shows in Kenya, Costa Rica, Mexico, Colombia, Canada, and the US. Now I plan to be toning it down so I can focus my energy and attention in the studio. I’ll have no less than 5 releases out by the end of the year.

Image

DM- We in India can’t wait to host you; what impressions do you have of the country and its club scene?

DEI think India is an incredibly diverse and fascinating place. I love Indian food, art, history, and culture. The club scene is still growing, but with a population of over 1.2 billion, the sky’s the limit to the amount of creativity we’ll be seeing from your country in the future.

All Hail the crowned King of Progressive House to whom fusing lush melodies with simple bass lines making that instantly gold!

In my mind, Darin as an artist is instantaneously adding a compelling dimension to dance music, seldom seen. When a performer consistently pulls at my aural senses, I damn well swear on all treasures in the world that he is just top class. Celebrating the Epsilon power comes easy to me, as I dedicate this chosen one feature to him alone. With much work collaborations with big weight labels, productions that scream of astral goodness and mix sets that stimulate dance joy, he cannot go wrong.

To keep your feet tapping to news, happenings, gigs guide and sample his ridiculously fabulous sets one can visit these following sites for updates and information. I  bid you munkeys a fond adieu cause I got so much dancing to get going with. In the meanwhile get your ears on to one of his newest mix set to understand how his kinda music genesis turns you in to mush. So long!!

Download- Darin Epsilon Guest mix LessThan3

Youtube- Darin Epsilon in Kenya

In other Links-

http://www.darinepsilon.com

http://www.soundcloud.com/darinesilon.com

http://www.facebook.com/darinepsilonofficial

http://www.twitter.com/darinepsilon

Leave a Reply

